2020 Season Calendar DASL Board NAGAAA Links League Documents

What is NAGAAA?

    The North American Gay Amateur Athletic Alliance (NAGAAA) was created in 1977 to be a non-profit, international organization comprised of men and women dedicated to promoting amateur athletics specifically for the gay and lesbian community. NAGAAA was formed to encourage and promote the participation of gay men and women in organized softball competition. Currently, 38 cities make up the membership of NAGAAA in the United States and Canada. The Denver Area Softball League is the only NAGAAA member organization in Denver.

    There is one division in NAGAAA:  Open. In the Open division, teams may be comprised of both men and women. The Open division is divided into four subdivisions: A, B, C and D. These subdivisions pertain to the competitive level of play; "A" being the most competitive and "D " the least (hence called "recreational").

    NAGAAA provides leagues with the opportunity to travel to member cities in order to meet and compete with gay and lesbian athletes from across North America. Some join for the competition while others for the socials and networking potentials. In its annual spring meetings, usually held in mid-February, NAGAAA informs member cities of upcoming tournaments among its membership, paramount amongst these tournaments is the Gay Softball World Series (GSWS) held each year in a different member city of NAGAAA. Every member league is encouraged to send at least one team to each GSWS as its representative.